Good Bad Movies

Posted on June 7, 2009. Filed under: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

One of the problems with the way I’ve structured this blog is it’s a bit black and white. There are films out there which fit in the grey area between genius and disaster.
So, here’s a list of good bad films, they’re not exactly brilliant, but they’re good in their own rubbish LXGway. They’re the inbetweeners that don’t fit on the must-see list but don’t belong on the steer-clear list either.

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. It’s not exactly a great film; the plot is thin and the adaptations from the novels are just plain wrong, but I still love it to bits. It’s harmless fun, it makes me laugh and on a dull night in it definitely passes the time.

Die Hard 2.  Yes we all know it’s nowhere near as good as the original, or even the third, but its John McClane running around shooting things and saying Yipee Ki-Ay. It’s all I need.

Bruce Almighty. I know that its wrong to love Jim Carrey but I can’t help it.  This film borders on preachy but just gets round it, and it really does make me laugh.  We’re all alllowThe Matrixed some guilty pleasures…

Home Alone.  I know. But hear me out.  It’s Christmas and that brilliant John Williams score starts up…it just works.

The two Matrix Sequels.  Compared to the original they aren’t fit to call themselves The Matrix, but if you let that go, there’s some awesome fight choreography which make it worthwile as long as you don’t try and understand the plot.  The multicar pile up in Reloaded is the best I’ve ever seen, I’d watch it just for that.The Lost Boys

Fantastic Four.  Defintely the weakest of the Marvel adaptations, the characters just aren’t as interesting, but it’s still a fun watch.  I’m never going to quite buy Ioan Gruffudd as an action hero, but the film doesn’t take itself seriously enough for it to matter.

The Lost Boys.  Possible the most 80s film ever made.  The special effects are “special” for all the wrong reasons and the vampire plot was tired even then, but somehow it still manages to be brilliant.  Maybe it’s Keifer Sutherland with peroxide hair that does it…

So, they’re not exactly run out and see them now recommendations, but don’t turn them down.  Give ’em a go.  Don’t expect Oscar winners, just slightly fluffy but fun film making.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

9 Responses to “Good Bad Movies”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

Good list. home alone and the lost boys are simply great films though, dont need to call em ‘good bad movies’. the lost boys was like cut knees – it was just something you grew up with.

I don’t entirely agree with you although the principle is fine I’m not sure of the films you have chosen. The Lost Boys is a good film. The league of extraordinary gentlemen is a bad film and The Matrix sequels are bad films with some good scenes.

If you like vampire movies the best of the 80’s and one of the best off all time, Kathryn Bigalow’s masterpiece Near Dark. It came out around the same time as The Lost Boys but has a completely different angle on the themes. And for fans of Heroes the main character Caleb is plaid by a young Adrian Pasdar.

OK you’re both arguing with the lost boys…it is a good film, but its almost like a pastiche of vampire movies, its very predictable and the special effects look like they involved a lot of ketchup. That’s te only reason I’m calling it “bad” I still think its a great movie and I know it has a huge cult fillowing.

fandang. you’re not getting away with calling LXG simply bad its so close to brilliant. And I’m probably one of the only people who actually really loved the Matrix sequels when they came out, I think the problem is the comparision with the original which is never going to stand up with films made 10 years apart. Just look at the Wolverine debate.
I’ll keep an eye out for Near Dark.

I really wanted to like The league of Extraordinary Gentlemen but just found it plodding and silly. But I must admit I was impressed with the production design a lot of the film looked good.

As far as the matrix sequels go I think the original film is better as a stand alone film. They didn’t need to take the story any further. The end result I sea as having two problems. First it felt like they had lots of good ideas for scenes and then worked out a plot to incorporate them, it really should be the other way around. Secondly I just didn’t like the plot and the direction they took the story. The only really good thing about them was the freeway chase scene.

I can’t make my mind up about Wolverine. It was an okay entertaining disposable popcorn film. I enjoyed the first two X-Men films and found him to be the best character in it but am not convinced by the origin film. The main problem was that it spent a long time working up to a point that we already know will happen. We know that Wolverine, Victor Creed and William Stryker will all survive because they all appear in later films. We also know that Wolverine will lose his memory at the end. Therefore they are developing a character arc that has no relevance to the character we know from the X-men movies. Having said all that a film that bridges the gap form origins to the first X-Men movie could have some good possibilities and would give a chance introduce characters that haven’t been used yet.

That’s the thing with films made from Graphic Novels they always look good. But I thought the performances and story weren’t bad either.

The Matrix was never meant to continue, so the sequels were pretty much doomed to fail. The plot does get a bit off, but I think centering back on Zion, which we never got to see in the first film, was a really good idea. The end did wind me up though ‘cos its so ambiguous. Think they got to wrapped up in trying to make the film seem clever and ended up with confusing.

As for Wolverine, I’ve already had this debate once on my post about it (https://storiesthatreallymattered.wordpress.com/2009/05/09/wolverine/)
Again like the Matrix I think you’ve got to take it almost as a standalone film. A lot of people shout at me when I say that ‘cos its a prequel and so it should tie in but there was nothing they could do about the Sabretooth problem and you just have to let that go. I think the fact that I’m a big X Men fan means I’m seeing through rose tinted glasses a bit, but I don’t think it deserves the criticism its getting.
I think knowing that the characters will survive/how they end up doesn’t really take that much away because we’ve never expected Wolverine to die. There’s lots of films that start with you knowing the ending, but that doesn’t mean you can’t enjoy the ride. In fact it can make it better knowing that you have to reach an endpoint but not knowing how. I think the main redeeming feature of the Star Wars prequels was wating to find out how Ani went from cute little kid to scary half robot.

A post-Origins/pre-X1 film could be good. But I think the real plan is to go backwards with Deadpool and Magneto. I’m not sure how much of a plot a bridging film could have…since he doesn’t need to much other than wander around not knowing who he is until Rogue turns up in that bar in X1. I’d still probably want to go see it though.

I don’t have a problem with the continuity. I think the films do fit together okay and the criticism is simply people who don’t like the films looking for faults in the same way as a fan of the film (like you) is happy to make excuses for the film. The recasting of Sabretooth was essential as it was such a big role it needed an proper actor and I think Live Shreiber was excellent in the part. I think in the first film he was cast simply for size. Hugh Jackman is about a foot taller than the character in the comic books with Sabretooth being considerably taller they needed a big man to play the part. The fact they look different is easily overlooked and not really necessary to explain but if you want to make up an excuse he could have changed his appearance as he became more animal less man. “ethanschiff” says “And how come Sabertooth didn’t remember Wolverine in the other movie?” that could also easily be explained by Sabertooth losing his memory in the approximately ten years between the films. An alternative explanation (that I have just made up on the spot) that will drive the real fan-boys mad. In Wolverine the character is always called Victor Creed. In X-Men he is always called Sabertooth, maybe in the film universe they are two completely different characters!

As for a Wolverine 2 there are endless possibilities of what he could have been doing and who he met as long as he stays away from the X-Men or anyone who knows him in future films. I have only read a little of it about fifteen years ago but I am sure that there is a whole Japanese storyline. That is what the bit at the end looks like it is setting up. You mention alternative post credit scenes, I am sure I read somewhere that only the Wolverine Japan one was shown in UK cinemas, I’m sure others will be on the DVD or somewhere on the internet. To clarify my point about knowing the character where alive in the other films. I didn’t expect Wolverine to be killed but they have really set this one up in such a way that it doesn’t look like he can be killed. If he is never in real danger there is no tension. My criticism is simply that it starts out as a somewhat unnecessary film and lives up to that potential. You do make a good point that it works well as a stand alone film. As far as where the franchise goes from here I think they need to go forwards not backwards. There is a plethora of source material that could be used for example:

Agreed graphic novel adaptations do tend to look good. The production designer on The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen was Carol Spier who has an excellent CV including several David Cronenberg and Guillermo del Toro films including there comic book films A History of Violence and Blade II respectively.

You’re right. Liev Shreiber is amazing in the role. He had to bulk up massively to match Hugh Jackman but he did which is great commitment seeing as th director wanted him to wear a bodysuit. I think I makde a similar point about him becoming more animal less man, that’s how I reconciled it in my head and it does make sense.
He he Victor and Sabretooth could be two different guys, but I think that drives me just as mad as the fanboys 😛 Victor always wantee Stryker to alter him, so you could explain the change of looks and lack of memory as another one of Stryker’s experiments. Who’s to say he didn’t have some small base of operations that eventually developed into the reclaiming of Alkali Lake in X2.

There is a story in Japan, which is why in the after credits scene Wolverine is in a Japanese bar, suggesting you might get your wish with a W2. I didn’t know the other scenes weren’t in the UK, but I know that the Deadpool one involves his decapitated head opening his eyes and “saying” (no mouth?) “Shhhhhhh.” Creepy Stuff. Love it.

Ethan made a similar point about the lack of vulnerability but I can’t say it bothered me. Maybe forwards is the best way, but I can tell you they are going backwards there’s two more prequels in th pipeline. I think the success of Wolverine will mean we get another film though, so chances are that Japanese plot will come out.

I think I’m gonna like having you to debate the pros and cons of the Marvel Universe with 😉

You have given me an idea. I think an article on Marvel films is needed.

You write it and I’ll read it. And probably comment on it a lot.
I think this debate needs moving elsewhere anyway since nowhere in the actual post is any word on Wolverine!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

