Don’t die of shock…I’m about to say something good about 3D….

Posted on September 3, 2011. Filed under: Ramblings | Tags: , , |

Recovered yet? OK I’ll carry on.  Technically it’s not 3D I’m saying good things about, it’s 4D.

We all know that I’m not a fan of 3D.  Of the few films I’ve seen that used the tech, only one (Avatar) managed to have a couple of  moments where it added rather than detracted, and I still think that they are just as good if not better in good old-fashioned 2D.  I get it though, they’re trying to make the cinema experience something you can’t recreate at home, and the better home cinema systems get, the harder that becomes.

So why my slight change of heart?  Well, it’s a bit of a random one, but last night some lovely friends took me to the Marvel 4D experience at Madame Tussaud’s.  Stay with me.  I’ve always said that 3D works better with animation because the bubble-like appearance of the characters doesn’t seem so weird when they’re already animated, and in this case the use of 3D was actually kind of cool.  Added to that the 4D effects (air jets, water, I won’t ruin it for you) and it became a really fun (short) film experience that made you feel like you really were part of the action.

So this is the conclusion I’ve come to; the problem with 3D movies is that they’re trying too hard not to do the gimmicky things waving out of the screen at you bit and be taken seriously as a special effect. But 3D is a gimmick. It’s always going to be about making you want to duck when things come flying towards you, so if you’re going to make a movie in 3D, embrace that. Don’t pretend you’ve not added on extra frills to try to make people come to the cinema, just go with it!  And if you can throw in some other fancy (and relatively cheap) effects to make the audience jump then why  not?  I’m not saying that mainstream movies should all start embracing 4D (God can you imagine?) but as the death of 3D appears nigh, I think it should be put back in its rightful place.

And for those who were wondering what the actual film was like…it depends on your view of recent Marvel offerings but I reckon it could give Fantastic Four a run for its money 😉

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

4 Responses to “Don’t die of shock…I’m about to say something good about 3D….”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

Very interesting. You know, you have a point. If I had to go see a 3D film, it probably would be better to see a cheesy ‘throw axes at the camera” type movie simply because it would be stupid fun. Like watching b-movies for the sole purpose of making fun of them.

That’s exactly my point Ian, if you’re going to have a dumb special effect, have some stuff coming out of the screen.

I’m not the biggest fan of 3D but some films have been able to get it right. The best use I’ve seen is undoubtedly Jackass 3 – It’s used continually, and realistically, and about 80% of the film was shot in 3D, which makes such a difference. It never looks cheap or gimmicky, just feels like you’re in the action (puke, sweat feces and all…)

Piranha was also good in a gimmicky way and (more surprisingly) the last POTC: Stranger Tides stunned me because it was far more subtle and sharp than anything I’d seen before.

I’m almost sad that it’s on its way out as I love the ‘cheapness’ of the whole thing – despite the surcharge!!! – but it’s the studios’ fault for throwing cheap 3D at everything that’s forced the public to turn against it.

Wow. Most of what you said is exactly why I hate 3D 😛 I kind of get the piranha gimmick, but that film would never have been made if they couldn’t scam some money out of the effects.
Interessting what you say about POTC. I still haven’t seen it, (despite arguing with Mark Kermode about it) but when I do I’ll see it in 2D so I guess I’ll never know. Most reviews I’ve read criticised the 3D though.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

