I finally saw Inception!!

Posted on January 23, 2011. Filed under: Movies to see before you die, Reviews | Tags: , , |

I know, how 2010 am I?

When friend and one time guest blogger Josh found out that I had got my hands on a copy of Inception on DVD it was instantly reserved for our not-so-regular group movie night.

I’m a bit late to jump on the “it’s amazing” band wagon, but I will say that I thought it was a triumph of visual effects and cinematography.  It takes the early ideas of bullet time and wire work, mixed in with super slow-mo HD filming to give a stunning experience that I think rivals Avatar for sensory impact.  I remember seeing a trailer for it, probably about a year ago, and thinking, “this one’s going to be good.” It was.

As for the plot?  Movies with open endings normally send me into a rage (Don’t get me started on The Ninth Gate or Matrix Revs).  However, in this case it was in perfect keeping with the movie.  I’m not sure I’ve decided how I think the film ended, but in a way I don’t think Nolan actually wants us to, it’s more about getting us to ask the questions and think about whether it would be better to live in a dream if the real world could never be what you wanted it to be.

Inception is basically the answer to the question “What happens if you cross The Matrix with Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, and it’s a good answer.  All the performances are strong, particularly good old Leo, who is going from strength to strength as he breaks out of that pretty boy shell.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen him hold a gun in a move before, and I wasn’t sure he’d suit it, but he seemed to carry it off pretty well.

It’s interesting the number of films about alternate realities and the subconscious there have been in recent years.  Alongside The Matrix trilogy and Eternal Sunshine, we’ve had Avatar, Surrogates, Gamer, A Scanner Darkly… and countless others I can’t quite put my finger on right now.  It’s clearly a popular topic, probably because its one of the last areas of Science that we really haven’t got much understanding of.

Anyway, not that you need me to tell you, but Inception is a fantastic movie that deserves the hype it’s been given.  It is a bit of a mental workout, but not so much that you get lost 20 minutes in like you can with some Psych-thriller style movies.  It’s also great fun for me to spot my university cropping up in the occasional scene.

I’m sure the DVD doesn’t quite compare to the full cinematic experience, but it translates pretty well.  It’s bound to sweep the boards in awards season.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

11 Responses to “I finally saw Inception!!”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

Glad to hear you liked it. Often when one comes into a movie after so much hype, they’re left shrugging their shoulders wondering what the big deal was.

Welcome to the bandwagon…we’ve been saving you a seat.

Hype is a dangerous thing, but I think in this case it is well deserved. Inception is like no movie I’ve seen before, it’s completely original. About time, in the era of sequels.

Thanks, I knew I’d make it eventually.

I’m glad you like Inception 🙂 and I like your review.
Inception is the best movie in 2010 for me…my second fav Sci-fi movie after The Matrix.

I really want to buy the DVD but it’s still to expensive, biding my time to see discounts on display 😉

It’s one of the more original films of the past 10 years, and it has a perfect direction from Christopher Nolan, who can entertain anyone with this. Good Review!

Thanks for the comments. There is so much that is clever about Inception, I think it really is the directorial event of the year.

Leo definately held a gun in the Departed.

Inception probably has the best fight in the history of movies. And Im a huge Star Wars fan, and I put it above all lightsaber duels.

Oh my god I can’t believe I completely forgot about The Departed! Thanks Dan.

I’m not sure I’d agree with you about the fight. I’m guesing you’re referring to the upside down one, which is very cool and has some great camera trickery but I don’t think it beats some of the scenes in the matrix. At least not for choreography.

2010 was a great year for DiCaprio, though I think his performance was a hair better in “Shutter Island.” I don’t care what anyone says — this guy has moved beyond “former Tiger Beat heartthrob” to “real actor.” He’s got talent. And now he’s actually starting to look like an actual grown-up man instead of a strange, gangly man child.

At lot of people have said Shutter Island is actually a better movie than Inception. I still need to see it but I’ll be sure to let you know what I think when I do.
I still think he looks like a strange gangly man child to be honest. But his acting has always been strong and I think people are definitely starting to take note now.

Glad you liked it! I enjoyed it although I was a bit taken aback by the hype at the time. The movie certainly has a complex story-line but I felt people were confusing that with emotional depth, which Inception lacks somewhat.

You think it lacks emotional depth? Interesting. I can’t form a proper opinion until I’ve seen it twice but I” try and come back to this one.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

