Guest Blog: Inception, the World Premiere, by Josh

Posted on July 16, 2010. Filed under: Reviews | Tags: , , , |

As promised, here are Josh’s thoughts on Christopher Nolan’s new blockbuster Inception, enjoyed in star-studded company at the Leicester Square Odeon.

Firstly, let me apologise to Katie for somehow wangling myself a ticket to the Inception premiere. It wasn’t my fault, honest…but I’m so glad I managed it! If I’d been to more world premieres and afterparties, I might be able to draw some correlation between the quality of a film and the party afterwards, but unfortunately my experience is limited to just Inception. That said, the party inside the old Battersea power station was rather good – but not quite as
good, perhaps, as the film itself.

Whenever I find myself thinking of the Dark Knight, I hear a deep bass rumbling in my head, a lingering memory of a soundtrack that perfectly matches a dark and brooding film. The opening notes of Inception, too, are dark and brooding, although the images it brought to mind of Nolan’s Batman films were soon gone.

The film opens rather brilliantly, but about fifteen minutes in, there’s a half hour as di Caprio assembles his new team that seemed to drag on just a little too long. Although it doesn’t by any stretch of the imagination ruin the film, some of the ways in which Nolan provides us with the back-story is a little too forced, and you can quite easily tell that certain bits of information will become key to the plot. By actively trying to get us to buy in to the dream-sharing, I feel Nolan risks breaking the suspension of disbelief we already have.

That said, after the first thirty-forty minutes, the film really starts to take off, and the plot becomes so intriguingly entangled. It’s a film I already need to see again to try and make sense of it all – not in the ‘I couldn’t understand what was going on’ way, but the ‘I need to figure out what the relevance of that bit was’ way.

The action itself – the upside-down fighting in particular – is intense. It may have just been the Leicester Square Odeon doing it for me, but my palms were sweating through the fight scenes, and a lot of the other tense moments that Nolan masterfully builds up throughout the film. He also has the sense to gives us a couple of more lighthearted moments that gave the entire cinema a chance to regain its breath and let our hearts rest from pounding so hard.

It’s a shame that Michael Caine doesn’t feature more – and that his character isn’t really explored. Although the rest of the actors perform for the most part superbly (particularly from some of the less well-known actors), I do feel Caine’s experience is a little lacking in some scenes. Ellen Paige, in particular, let me down somewhat.

I want to say so much more about this film – but I don’t want to even hint at some of the surprises in store for you. You do have to go and see it, and ignore my criticisms above, because I had to really think about the film to realise I had any criticisms at all. It is on a level far above Nolan’s Batman films; sitting in it, I couldn’t really believe Inception of all films is the work of the same writer/director.

Go and see it – it’s out on general release today – and look forward to that hour after you leave the cinema where you’re walking around, mouth on the floor, unable to comprehend what a brilliant film you’ve just seen.

Thanks Josh! Inception is out today, and by the sounds of it we should all be heading to the cinema this weekend.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

9 Responses to “Guest Blog: Inception, the World Premiere, by Josh”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

I agree! Fantastic film — the movie event of the summer for people who demand a better breed of blockbuster.

Here’s my thoughts on the flick:

http://davethenovelist.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/the-inception-of-dreams/

Great. Loved it, even though Michael Caine was criminally underused.

Man I need to see this film. It’ very weird to not really be able to respond to comments on my own blog!

Great to see this film living up to expectations! But I think we all thought it would…

Freakin amazing!! I loved almost every single second of this!! Nolan is going to be considered as one of the best directors of all-time now, and I will stand by and say, yes, I have to also agree. Check out my review here: http://dtmmr.wordpress.com/2010/07/19/inception-2010/

Just seen it for the second time. Must say, it makes a lot more sense now!

I don’t think Michael Caine was underused. His appearance is brief, yes, but it’s significant. If Nolan didn’t think Arthur had some deep significance to the plot, those short scenes surely would be up for being cut – the film is already very long. That such a high profile actor was used so briefly for me just highlights that when thinking about the film we need to think about Arthur.

There’s a couple more focus points for me on this second viewing, and that’s centering around the language Nolan uses in relation to the concept of inception, and dream-sharing in general. I’ll save these for now and not reveal spoilers here!

Of course, when I say Arthur in the comment above, I mean Miles. Oops!

Good for you for snatching those tix and seeing this ahead of most regular folks, Josh. I like what you said here “It’s a film I already need to see again to try and make sense of it all – not in the ‘I couldn’t understand what was going on’ way, but the ‘I need to figure out what the relevance of that bit was’ way.” I feel the same way, it was baffling but mesmerizing at the same time. I think seeing it a second time will help me understand a lot of it better, as it seems to be for you.

Katie, hope you get to see this soon. I’m curious what you think about it.

I can’t believe you’ve seen it twice before I’ve even seen it once.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

