Breaking News: The Hobbit!

Posted on June 11, 2010. Filed under: News | Tags: , , , , , |

Turns out twitter can sometimes be useful for more than just finding out what people had for breakfast.

Here’s the latest from @ianmckellen118:

“Hobbit” sets are ready, script ready and movie is casting this month. Fans are not to worry.

The films will get made. I suspect we’ll start shooting at end of this year.

Fiercely protective of Tolkien as I am, it’s good to know that the right people are getting involved.  Bringing Ian McKellen back was always a must, and with rumours that Andy Serkis is in too, along with  Jackson, Boyens and Walsh writing the screenplay, I’m starting to relax enough to get excited.  The big question now is who will direct, after Guillermo Del Toro was forced to quit earlier this year:

“In light of ongoing delays in the setting of a start date for filming “The Hobbit,” I am faced with the hardest decision of my life. After nearly two years of living, breathing and designing a world as rich as Tolkien’s Middle Earth, I must, with great regret, take leave from helming these wonderful pictures. I remain grateful to Peter, Fran and Philippa Boyens, New Line and Warner Brothers and to all my crew in New Zealand. I’ve been privileged to work in one of the greatest countries on earth with some of the best people ever in our craft and my life will be forever changed. The blessings have been plenty, but the mounting pressures of conflicting schedules have overwhelmed the time slot originally allocated for the project. Both as a co-writer and as a director, I wlsh the production nothing but the very best of luck and I will be first in line to see the finished product. I remain an ally to it and its makers, present and future, and fully support a smooth transition to a new director”.

Source

I really hope this movie lives up to the almost impossible expectations it has riding on it.  The fact that it’s being split into two parts already rankles me, because it seems like a studio that knows it’s onto a good thing trying to get as much money as possible, but that aside, there really is potential for another sensational film here.

All we need now is the casting of the right actor to play Bilbo.  I’m actually campaigning for a relative unknown.  Everyone dismissed Elijah Wood as a child actor who had no chance of carrying a film like LOTR.  Let’s prove them wrong again.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

14 Responses to “Breaking News: The Hobbit!”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

I do hope that Peter Jackson will take the helm again now that Del Toro’s quit. I’m not super excited about this but I LOVE LOTR so naturally I’ll watch it if Jackson is directing. So is Elijah Wood back for this, too?

I’m kind of the same Ruth, I’m not yet excited, but I think If Jackson was directing I would be. I was OK with Del Toro doing it, not sure who else I would want to do it instead.

There’s talk of a potential cameo for Elijah Wood, but Frodo isn’t actually in the book as far as I remember. I’m not sure he’s even born yet! They do go to Mirkwood at one point and meet Legolas’ father so they could get Orlando Bloom in for a quickie. I’ve also heard rumours that Ian Holm might be in to cameo as a relative of Bilbo’s, but that all depends on his health etc.
They’re going to have a tough time casting Bilbo, since at the beginning of FOTR we see a scene from The Hobbit (Bilbo finding the ring). Whoever they cast has to fit with that image.

I am questioning whether this will actually get made. The Del Toro setback is a sign that this seems not to be able to get out of pre-production.

Well so was I, but Ian McKellen seems to think differently. And I’m inclined to believe him 🙂

Is Del Toro quitting a sign the script isn’t good enough. Hopefully in time they can shape it up to something close to the quality of the LOTR adaptations. Peter Jackson’s involvement is a must I feel.

It’s supposed to be a scheduling clash or something but we’ll probably never know the real reason. It has got teh same writing team as LOTR, so in theory that should promise a good script.

It now seems that Neill Blomkamp (District 9) might direct the movie. A rumor of course so take it with a grain of salt.

That would be terrible.

Thanks for the info Castor. I’m yet to watch District 9 (still sitting on my shelf) but I’m not overcome with joy at his involvment…Ian does little to reassure me :S

Well, when you do watch District 9, focus on the directorial style and ask yourself whether it is at all right for the Hobbit. The answer is no.

I definitely will pay close attention. I’m already thinking no just from the trailers. Not good news.

I’d like to see Neil Blomkamp have a go…District 9 was terrific.

Now there’s a rumour that they’re trying to get Jackson to actually direct again.

That would make me very happy


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

