“I think I’m gonna have a heart attack and die from not surprised!”

Posted on March 8, 2010. Filed under: News | Tags: , , , |

The winners are announced then, and while I wouldn’t have predicted a sweep from The Hurt Locker initially, after the BAFTAs and the continued hyping by the media it wasn’t exactly shocking when it came away with another 6 awards. The Best Original Screenplay one intrigues me most of all, since there’s rumblings of a law suit from a soldier who says they’ve stolen his story. Not so original then.

Deperate to inject some drama, the news reports were most excited by the fact that Kathryn Bigelow is James Cameron’s ex-wife, with feminists counting a win for the team. I’m sure Jim is at home right now weeping into his $2.5billion.

As for the other winners, the Brits were in with much less of a shot across the pond and it’s no surprise that Jeff Bridges got the Best Actor award.  Sandra Bullock on the other hand…I guess I’ll have to see the film to get it, ‘cos at the moment I just don’t. Especially against Mulligan and Sidibe.

The morning TV was citing a win for Christopher Waltz as a surprise, but again following the BAFTAs it seemed pretty obvious. Same goes for Mo’Nique…and the more I read throught the winners, the more obvious they seem.

So why didn’t I predict all of these back when the nominations were announced? Simple, I hadn’t seen the BAFTAs yet.

A while ago I wrote a post about the differences in the nominations between the BAFTAs and The Oscars, but when it comes down to it, the winners are always very similar. The greatest variation is always in the Best Actor/Actress category, with each nation favouring home grown talent.

The Oscars is the wrap party of the award season, but its later timing means that the winners tend to seem a foregone conclusion by the time we actually hear who they are. Kinda takes the drama out of it to be honest. It’s not even a surprise that Avatar only took home effects awards, because in the end, the effects were the major achievement of the film, and even if the media want some kind of outrage there, I think most people would agree that it took away the awards it deserved.  I’m still not sure what I would have given Best Film to, but I wont restart The Hurt Locker debate.

And the winners are:

BEST PICTURE

The Hurt Locker

BEST DIRECTOR

Kathryn Bigelow (The Hurt Locker)

BEST ACTOR

Jeff Bridges (Crazy Heart)

BEST ACTRESS

Sandra Bullock (The Blind Side)
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR

Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds)

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS

Mo’Nique (Precious)

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM

El Secreto de Sus Ojos – The Secret in Their Eyes (Argentina)

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

Mark Boal (The Hurt Locker)

BEST ANIMATION

Up

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Geoffrey Fletcher (Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire)

BEST ART DIRECTION

Avatar

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY

Avatar

BEST SOUND MIXING

The Hurt Locker

BEST SOUND EDITING

The Hurt Locker

BEST ORIGINAL SONG

The Weary Kind (theme from Crazy Heart) from Crazy Heart by Ryan Bingham, T Bone Burnett

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

Up (Michael Giacchino)

BEST COSTUMES

The Young Victoria

BEST FILM EDITING

The Hurt Locker

BEST MAKE-UP
Star Trek
BEST ANIMATED SHORT FILM

Logorama

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM

The New Tenants

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS

Avatar

**Bonus points if you can place the quote**

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

5 Responses to ““I think I’m gonna have a heart attack and die from not surprised!””

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

Hi Katie, yeah I was telling Red @ Anomalous Material that this year’s acting nods seem much more predictable! I’m not fumed about the Academy’s picks on those categories though, not even with Sandra winning (though I’m obviously in the minority amongst bloggers). As who should win Best Picture? Inglourious Basterds hands down!! QT is robbed beyond belief! But yeah, it’s probably wise not to rehash the THL debate, I’m ready to get the Oscar thing behind us… now bring on the Summer blockbusters! 🙂

I’m not against any of the picks either (except Bullock but as I said, maybe I need to see it)

Me too, award season over, time to get soem new good movies out there.

I must have missed The Hurt Locker debate, everyone I spoke to were overjoyed that Avatar didn’t win and happy for The Hurt Locker. While I thought the The Hurt Locker was good and Avatar was okay, I wish Inglourious Basterds had more than a token chance at winning. Amazing screenplay. Shame its only award came from Christoph Waltz, who was an absolute certainty to win. Not sure what made him a supporting actor though.

Precious in the Best Adapted Screenplay and that Argie film in the Foreign Language categories were the biggest WTF? moments for me.

– saamFG

The ONE and ONLY surprise of the night for me was “Precious” taking Best Adapted Screenplay. I had “Up in the Air” pegged, and though I was disappointed about the upset I liked “Precious” enough for it to make my top 5 of 2009.

The only real highlights for me were Mo’Nique and Christoph Waltz’s speeches. Oh, and trying to figure out what the hell Vera Farmiga was wearing. I never care about the dresses and tuxes, but seriously, V? I love you, but what the hell?

i had a huge crush on Sandar Bullock when i was still in college, for me, she is the prettiest actress ;..


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

