A few quick words on Sherlock Holmes

Posted on February 18, 2010. Filed under: Movies to see before you die, Reviews, Trivia | Tags: , , , , |

I don’t really have time to write a full on review so instead I’m giving you a couple of paragraphs based on some stuff I scribbled down last night. Note: I’ve really tried to tone down use of the word “awesome.”

Sherlock Holmes is awesome. It is definitely one of the best films I’ve seen in a while. The chemistry between Jude Law and Robert Downey Jr is spot on, creating a brilliant brotherly relationship with all the awkward macho-ness of Victorian gentlemen added on.  Of course this kind of fast talking quick witted dialogue is the reason Downey Jr was invented-which is why the role suits him so well, but Law plays a brilliant striaght man, with a great dry sarcasm and complete lack of surprise at Holmes erratic behaviour.

OK so this version probably doesn’t live up to the books I haven’t read, but to be honest, who cares? I like this kind of action hero come detective character who has a few issues with drinking eye medicine. (For those who like trivia, that reference in the film is a nod to Holmes cocaine addiction.)  Normally when a film is obvioulsy setting up for a franchise I start to become wary of obvious sequel lead ins, but with Holmes I was already couting the days to the next movie before the credits had even rolled.  This is definitely a double act that could endure for a while yet, with almost limitless plot possibilities!

While we’re talking about plot, some have criticised the black magic story in the film saying it’s too supernatiral for Holmes, but I disagree. The fact that everything came down to it’s logical Scientific explanation suitted Holmes perfectly, while the character of Blackwood tapped into the culture of superstition at the time.

A few other quick thoughts. Hans Zimmer’s score is (as usual) brilliant and despite sounding like the wrong man for the job Guy Richie’s direction works well. There are a few of his trademarks there (I’m pretty sure slow-mo bare knuckle boxing was his idea) but in the context of the film nothing sticks out.  A lot of effort went into recreating Victorian London as well, and the costume design is really good. Speaking of, one final bit of trivia for you: the costume designer obviously has a sense of humour-pay attention to where she has her name in the credits/picture montage.  I’m pretty sure she didn’t have much work to do in that scene 😉

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

4 Responses to “A few quick words on Sherlock Holmes”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

glad you liked it – Sherlock Holmes is a great big fun piece of cinema. I really enjoyed it and can’t wait for a sequel

Good to hear you enjoyed the movie, the Hans Zimmer soundtrack was pure genius. Sherlock Holmes was a B+ for me.

I think it’s high time someone gave “Sherlock Holmes” a fresh take, and by gum Guy Ritchie did it. Robert Downey Jr. is spot-on. I can’t imagine anyone else playing Holmes. He has the right kind of snarky, shrewd intelligence … the very same kind I’d imagine the world’s greatest detective would have.

Also, Mark Strong is WON-DER-FUL as a villain. He showed that in “Body of Lies” and did himself one better here. More please and soon!

I’m teh saem wrtih Downey Jr. When they first announced it I was surprised because he doesn’t fit the traditional image but I hoped he wold be really good and he was. I can’t imagine anyone else now.

I spent the whole movie desperately trying to place Mark Strong, then I finally realised he was Septimus in Stardust. Loving his work.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

