I am so behind!

Posted on January 17, 2010. Filed under: News | Tags: , , , , |

You may have noticed that compared to last year there is a deplorable lack of awards chatter on this blog.  I blame my job.  But since it’s the Golden Globes tonight I’m determined to get a few lines up about the upcoming awards.  Unlike last year, there’s no obvious front runner to sweep the trophies this year; no Slumdog, no Benjamin Button, so the competition is kind of wide open.  We all know the Globes are a good indicator of The Oscars, so tonight we’ll be getting a pretty good idea of what’s to come.  Incidentally, if anything does sweep, I think it might be Nine.

A few predictions then.  In the Best Movie (Drama) category I’m thinking probably the wonderfully spelt Inglourious Basterds with the Best Musical/Comedy going to Nine.  Best Actress I expect to go to Helen Mirren, because she always wins, but I think that anyone in that category (except Sandra Bullock) is in with a shot.  Best Actor I’m thinking George Clooney and Best Animated absolutely has to be Up (that’s getting the Oscar too).  I can’t really guess about the Supporting Role awards since I haven’t seen any of the films(!) and Best Director is a tricky one, but I think they just might give it to James Cameron for being brave enough to make Avatar.  Michael Giacchino should be in with a shot for his score of Up,  but James Horner (Avatar) is stiff competition  (I haven’t even heard the score yet but the fact that he wrote it means I have no doubt it’s brilliant).

As for the telly awards, that’s kind of wandering off point a bit, but in my book House wins everything. Except musical, that’s Glee.

I’ll try to keep a bit more on top of these awards. Let me know your predictions!

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

8 Responses to “I am so behind!”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

Interesting picks! Over the last few years, I’ve stopped giving the GG’s any sort of credence where it comes to being true Oscar predictors…but it sure is a fun show to watch, ain’t it?

Here’s to drunk celebrities!

The Globes aren’t as good an indicator as the BAFTAs. But if you combine both you can just about work out the Oscars. I’ve never actually got to see the besides what turns up on YouTube.

Just posted predictions on Caz’s blog, I know it’s lazy to cut and past but here it is:

BEST MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA
What I want to win: The Hurt Locker
What I think will win: Up in the Air

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA
Who I want to win: Carey Mulligan
Who I think will win: Gabourey Sidibe

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA
Who I want to win: Not seen any
Who I think will win: George Clooney

BEST MOTION PICTURE, COMEDY OR MUSICAL
What I want to win: (500) Days of Summer
What I think will win: Julie & Julia

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE, COMEDY OR MUSICAL
Who I want to win: Marion Cotillard
Who I think will win: Meryl Streep

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE, COMEDY OR MUSICAL
Who I want to win: Robert Downey Jr
Who I think will in: Michael Stuhlbarg

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM
What I want to win: Fantastic Mr. Fox
What I think will win: Up

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE
Who I want to win: Penélope Cruz
Who I think will win: Penelope Cruz

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE
Who I want to win: Christoph Waltz
Who I think will win: Christoph Waltz

BEST DIRECTOR
Who I want to win: Kathryn Bigelow
Who I think will win: Jason Reitman

BEST SCREENPLAY
What I want to win: The Hurt Locker
What I think will win: Up in the Air

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

What I want to win: Where the Wild Things Are
What I think will win: Avatar

BEST ORIGINAL SONG
What I want to win: not heard one I like
What I think will win: Nine

…and now that it’s all over, I remember why I haven’t been paying them much attention (THE HANGOVER? Really???)

Oh well – bring on The Oscar nominations!!!

dont do the lotto this week Fands

Thanks for the list Andy. Related post on its way peeps.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

