The 12 films of Christmas, Part Two: Christmas Hols

Posted on December 21, 2009. Filed under: Ramblings | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , |

Even if you don’t go to school anymore (or happen to work in one) you’ll probably remember that the Christmas excitement really takes hold once you go off on holiday.  And as my school was closed on the last day of term because of the snow, the festive spirit is really flowing.

The fact that I’m completely snowed in has also helped me cross off a few more of my pre-Christmas movies. So here’s part two of my must watch yuletide films, this time bringing you some undeniably merry movies.

The Grinch

Jim Carrey has been a bit of a feature round here recently, and like many of his films, The Grinch tends to divide people.  I guess if you really hate him you can trade the new version for the traditional animation, but I really like Ron Howard’s adaption which stays very close to the book and has a great look which brings to life Dr Seuss’s mad imagination.  Even if you’ve never seen the movie/read the book, you’re bound to have some idea what The Grinch is all about.  In a way, it’s a bit like A Christmas Carol, with a grumpy outsider finding “the meaning of Christmas” but it also is increasingly relevant as both  Cindy-Lou and The Grinch struggle with the idea that Christmas seems to be all about who can spend the most money.

HomeAlone

I have absolutely no idea why I like this film, I just know that I have to see it before Christmas.  I think a lot of it is down to John Williams beautiful score, my favourite monent being where he weaves Carol of the Bells into his main theme.  Yes, this film is unutterably cheesy, but that’s just what you need at Christmas. Plus, the child in me will always laugh at two bad guys getting hit in the face with paint cans.

Miracle on 34th Street

Again, there’s a few versions of this, but the one I’m voting for here is the Richard Attenborough, because I could totally see him being Santa.  This film has great memories for me, especially as it is one of the first (if not the first) films I ever saw at the cinema; back in the dark ages when my town still had one.  It’s a cute story about getting people to believe in Santa Claus, and although it’s sickly sweet, it gets away with it thanks to some strong performances from Attenborough and Mara Wilson (AKA Matilda). The idea of a legal battle over the existence of Santa is also a pretty neat one, oroginal enough to be taken off in numeous parodies ever since the black and white original.

This final spot I’ve struggled with.  In the end I’ve decided to leave out Gremlins on account that it’s not so much a family film (although since I discovered it two Christmasses ago I haven’t looked back).  So my final Christmas Hols film is:

The Santa Clause

This film has a lot fo similarities with Miracle on 34th, with both trying to get grown-ups to believe in Santa, but this time with a modern twist. Tim Allen stars as the half-hearted Dad who falls foul of “The Santa Clause” after accidentally knocking St Nick off the roof.  Forced to become the new Santa, the plot follows the not so shocking arc of him coming to terms with his new responsibilities, but with the nice side story of him bonding with his son (Daddy issues anyone?)  It’s a fun film with some real laughs, making me all the more sad that it’s not on this year and I don’t have it on DVD.

So that’s the holidays sorted (and I don’t mean that in the American sense.)  If you’re snowed in like me, crank the heating up, grab a blanket and get stuck in!

Final installment coming on Christmas Eve (ish) with my recommendations for the films to finally get you ready for the big day. And one to watch while you can barely move after all that dinner.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

6 Responses to “The 12 films of Christmas, Part Two: Christmas Hols”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

You have totally picked my favorite Christmas films that I have watched from being very young. I couldn’t agree more about Richard Attenborough being Santa, as his face in Miracle on 34th Street is always what I think of when Santa is mentioned. I just love Tim Allen in “The Santa Clause” too.

I find this a great choice in films, and could have actually wrote this post myself, haha.

woohoo! Part 2! its too long these days between a STRM post Katie. pleasure delaying i suppose…
Home Alone.. one of the Christmas greats – up there with Scrooged

well I had to wait until the holidays started…part 3 should be coming sooner. My news years resolution will be to post more often. The blog is nearly a whole year old now!

I quite like The Santa Claus, the first sequel is okay too. Although Tim Allen does tend to make some rubbish – Christmas With The Kranks is one to avoid.

I’ve always enjoyed The Santa Clause. A nearby theater was still showing it come Christmas day when my uncle took me and my cousins to see it. I never before knew we were allowed to go to the theater on Christmas! It was also the first time I had cotton candy from someplace other than the carnival. In other words, it was an excellent day. 😀

aww that’s a sweet story David!

Dan: I’ve only seen the first of the Santa Clause films. The other two didn’t look as good and I didn’t want to taint a good thing!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

