My Sister’s Keeper-The Outrage Continues!

Posted on June 26, 2009. Filed under: Ramblings | Tags: , , |

It gets worse.

I wanted to find out if they changed teh ending to go for the Hollywood happy.  So I went here. And now I am totally horrified!

I wont say too much, because I don’t want to ruin the book for you (the movie is beyond saving) but suffice to say they have completely mangled the ending and taken out the twist which made the book good.   They’ve also taken all of the power out of Jesse’s character by being too scared to give a kid a drug addiction. Well done Hollywood, you’ve killed another one.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

4 Responses to “My Sister’s Keeper-The Outrage Continues!”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

I suggest you don’t watch the film. If you are this wound up about how bad it could be imagine what it will be like if you see it and really hate it!

Yeah I think I’m going to have to steer clear. So disappointing because it could make an awesome movie.

Not all adaptations are bad. My top ten films that are better than the book: Made up on the spot (without much thought so there could be others) and a purely personal list based on books I have read or a least tried to read, I gave up on a couple.

Lord of the Rings (controversial one to start with as they are much loved books but I just couldn’t get into them but loved the films)

The Shawshank Redemption from Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption (I find Stephen King really tedious to read but this is a classic film and goes so much further than the short story)

Bladerunner from Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep (Not a bad book, full of good ideas but not always the most coherent)

Fight Club (Okay book amazing film)

Apocalypse Now from Heart of Darkness (took the basic story and transposed to the Vietnam War setting, amazing film)

LA Confidential (good book the film was better)

The Godfather (so much better than the book)

American Psycho (The book is really reparative and slow I didn’t finish it)

Schindler’s List from Schindler’s Ark (more in depth than the film but lacking the emotional power)

The Bourne Trilogy (the first book was okay the second rubbish and I didn’t finish the third. The films are all brilliant. Look out for a blog about The Bourne Identity next week)

Oh I know, my favourite film of all time is a novel adaptation and there’s lots of others that I love. I agree with you on the better than the book in LOTR’s case, it’s a heavy read especially for someone like me. The rest of your list I haven’t read (told oyu I was bad at books) but those that I’ve seen are all good movies.

It just annoys me that when given the opportunity to make a really meaningful film about a true debate they chickened out and made a sob story.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

