How to survive the British Summer

Posted on April 29, 2009. Filed under: News, Ramblings, Trailers | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

Summer’s coming, and that means one thing…loads of movie releases to keep the kids (and everyone else) happy during the inevitably rainy summer holidays.  The Summer Blockbuster line up has already begun with Wolverine, but there are a few more to keep an eye out for if, like mSpocke, you need something to look forward to during exam season.

The first, and most obvious, is the new Star Trek movie, opening next week (8th May).  I’m not a trekkie, but that’s more because I just never saw it than a conscious decision to avoid.  I have been made to watch one star trek film, and it was good, despite the fact I needed most of what was going on explained to me by a trekkie friend.  I’m intrigued by the new offering, if only to gawp at the ridiculousness of Zac “Sylar” Quinto’s eyebrows, and it does look promising. Surprisingly little has been said about Chris Pine, our new Kirk, with most promo focussing mainly on Quinto and Simon Pegg.  As a relative unknown, that makes sense, and it will be interesting to see what the hard core fan reaction is.  From the little I’ve seen in the trailers, and in my hugely inferior knowledge, I think something’s missing. But I’m more than likely to be wrong.

Following Star Trek, we have Angels and Demons, the sequel to The DaVinci Code. I’m semi-ashamed to admit that I loved the books, but I accept that the writing is terrible, and this is coming from someone who, as a rule, doesn’t read.  However, I was really disappointed with The DaVinci Code movie after some plot tweaking took all the sympathy out of Paul Bettany’s Silas.

Angels and Demons is a carbon copy of DaVinci, you can even match up character types between the books, but having said that, the twists and conspiracy theory that makes Dan Brown so infamous did make it very compelling and I have no doubt the film will be the same.  Perhaps the fact that I haven’t read the book in 3 years will mean I can enjoy the prequel more, since I’ll be in less of a position to play spot the difference with the adaptation, and the addition of Ewan McGregor to the cast should be a good thing, altough I’m sure boys will be mourning the loss of Audrey Tautou.

If drama isn’t what you’re after, then on the 10th July Bruno hits the screens, the latest of Sacha Baron Cohen’s creations.  I have no doubt that this will be a huge success, but I wont be seeing it.  I think I’m in the 10% of the world that thought Borat was awful and so I’m not holding my breath for Bruno, but maybe it’ll be better than I expect.  I know that lots of you out there can’t wait for it.  Maybe I’ll catch the DVD.

A friend also pointed out Moon to me.  Starring Sam Rockwell and coming out on 3rd Sept.  Not strictly a blockbuster but as soon as I saw the trailer I was hooked.  It follows an astronaut about to end a three year stint alone aboard a space station when everything goes a bit 2001.  Check it out ‘cos I reckon it’s going to be the turning point in Rockwell’s career.

Finally, I’ll quickly mention Up, a film I’ve been telling a few friends about and have been looking forward to for a while.  It doesn’t quite count as a Summer blockbuster, as it’s not coming out until the 16th October, but I wanted to give it a mention.  It’s the latest from Pixar Animation Studios, and once again they’ve chosen to pick a challenging medium and place a storyline in it.  They’ve done fur (Monster’s Inc), water (Nemo) and fast track racing (Cars) but now they’re taking us into the air, with one of the weirdest story premises I’ve ever heard.  Wanted to see it instantly.  Here’s the trailer:

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

