A few more to live without

Posted on February 9, 2009. Filed under: Movies to miss | Tags: |

Over the weekend I was reminded (via one of those E4 100 greatest countdown thingys) of a few more films that were utterly disappointing.  To spare you the same fate…

  1. Breakfast at Tiffanys. I just don’t get what part of that film is supposed to be good.
  2. Love Story. Yes it gaves us that iconic piece of music, but that’s it.
  3. The Life Aquatic.  It’s like The Royal Tennenbaums, but weirder, if that’s possible.
  4. The Ninth Gate. A very strange film I watched late one night. I still don’t know what it’s about.
  5. 2001: A space Odyssey. Why? Seriously, why? There’s a big black block, a baby in the moon and a psychadelic eyeball….what?!
  6. Kingdom of Heaven. It just never got going.
  7. Austin Powers. I know people love it, but I just didn’t think it was that great, for much the same reason that I don’t like…
  8. …American Pie
  9. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  Ir’s a clever concept and it has its moments, but in general its not worth the time.
  10. Meet Joe Black. I really liked this film, right until the cop-out Hollywood ending.  It sold out for an implausible happily ever after when it was almost brilliant.

They’re the ones that come immediately to mind….I’ll do a quick list of movies not to miss soon too, but I tend to want to waffle on about them for a while…it’ll probably turn int my own 1001 list. Watch this space. *It did check out the pages*

*Update* I’ve now turned this into a Page to counter the Movies to see list.

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

7 Responses to “A few more to live without”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

Hey Katie, I’e just discovered your blog today and have avoided most of these movies like the plague (thankfully), but can I just say spot-on in relation to Breakfast at Tiffanys and Love Story. I was distinctly underwhelmed by both. Interestingly, I think the music is the best thing about both -BAT had the gorgeous Moon River and Love Story the nice love theme-y thing used in nearly every music box ever made. Aw. Lovely lovely tunes, shame about the stories.

Thanks for the comment. I’m with you on the Love Story theme but Moon River does nothing for me. Did you know that they had to write it within such a narrow range so that Hepburn could sing it? (She’s dubbed in My Fair Lady) It pretty much moves around three notes. Having said that, it is still probably the only vague redeeming feature of the movie. If music is a big deal to you (like me) I’d be interested to know if you agree with me on this

Breakfast at Tiffany’s is a fantastic film but as you didn’t like Lost in Translation I can understand you not liking this.

Love Story is sentimental crap and a waste of a great leading actress.

I haven’t seen The life Aquatic.

The Ninth Gate is a bit of a mess in places but a Roman Polanski film is always worth watching as is a Johnny Depp film. Emmanuelle Seigner is a bonus.

2001 isn’t a film it is a feature length metaphor. Its okay but not amazing.

Kingdom of heaven is okay but nothing special

Austin Powers I just didn’t get, there was one funny joke in the whole film.

American Pie again I didn’t get, just not funny.

Eternal Sunshine of the ridiculously long title I actually really enjoyed.

Meet Joe Black, I know I have seen but I cant remember a single thing about it so it cant be much good!

Breakfast at Tiffany’s is the Emperor’s new clothes of movies, everyone is terrifed of criticising Hepburn because she’s an “icon” but I think she’s wooden and rubbish!
That’s exactly why I watched Ninth Gate but I stil thought it was weird.
I did enjoy eternal sunshine, but I wouldn’t watch it again, and I didn’t really get much out of it. It was kind of a show piece rather than a film.
Meet Joe Black still makes me angry

It makes me sad to see “Eternal Sunshine” on your list. It’s probably in my top 5 favorites, but you’re right — it does require a lot of time and attention.

My number one Must Miss movie has to be “Vanilla Sky.” H-A-T-E-D it the first time I saw it, and my loathing only grew the second time. I’m also not a fan of David Lynch’s work in general. I don’t mind directors who make me work to find meaning, but I DO mind directors who just mess with my head with an air of snobbery.

M. Carter at the Movies

I’m getting a lot of stick for that. If it helps, its only just on there. Maybe I’ll watch it again one day and love it, I guess it just came across as one of those films that knew it was being clever and figured that should be enough for you to love it, it didnt have to work any harder.

I’ve never seen Vanilla Sky and don’t intend to. There’s a few films I’ve steered well clear of but I figured it wasnt fair to put them on the list having never seen them. I’m sure you’re right about it though

You aren’t missing anything by not watching Vanilla Sky but if you haven’t already you should see Alejandro Amenabar’s original Open Your Eyes. Penelope Cruz plays the same part in both films. She is as brilliant in the original as she is bad in the remake.

And by the way I Love David Lynch films. This is my only article about his films so far but there will be more in future: http://fandangogroovers.wordpress.com/2009/06/04/re-examining-mulholland-drive-with-the-help-of-david-lynch/


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

