Marvel-ous!

Posted on January 25, 2009. Filed under: Ramblings, Reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , |

*groan* I know, terrible title, but it’s Sunday.

As part of a weekly ritual with two good friends, I watched Iron Man last night.  The latest offering in the Marvel comic-to-film cascade, its a pretty good film with some funny lines and a good plot, even if the Science behind that electromagnet is fatally flawed.  Robert Downey Jr is great in the role, as sort of anti-hero come vigilante activist and Gwenyth Paltrow is also good.  I’m always disappointed that she comes across as much nicer in films than she is in real life.

The special effects are also great, especially the aerial scenes, making me slightly re-think my Oscar prediction.  It dawned on me last night that Iron Man is basically Marvel’s version of the DC Batman, making it all the more interesting that they’re up against eachother.iron-man-downey-jr2

Although Iron Man is great, you’ll notice I’m not putting it in the films to see before you die category, mainly because I’m not going to force you to watch it as soon as I find out you haven’t.  But I will strongly recommend it.  I’m also really looking forward to The Avengers.  With Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury it’s got to be good, but unfortunately there’s a bit of a long wait.

When compared with the other Marvel films out there, Iron Man doesn’t quite come top but its close.  I’d argue that the X-Men films (if we give some lee-way to the dodgier third installment) are the best, closely followed by Spiderman.  After that, I think I’d put Iron Man on and equal footing with the Fantastic Four, if not slightly above.  Bottom of the pile is Daredevil, a film which had the potential (and the casting) to be brilliant but somehow just didn’t make it.  It’s about half an hour too short for anything to develop properly, which is disappointing since Daredevil is one of Stan Lee’s best creations.

I think the Marvel comic films are some of the best blockbusters out there, and defintiely what you need on a dreary night.  I’m yet to see them all (Blade for example has passed me by) but I reckon they’re holding a pretty good standard so far, which in the sea of different directors, is a testemant to Lee’s characters.
Marvel

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

6 Responses to “Marvel-ous!”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

The weekly ritual isn’t watching Iron Man, for those who are wondering…

I thought that as I wrote it, but I let it go

Just reading your older entries. Kind of spooky, I posted what will be my first of many Marvel articles about half an hour ago all about Blade. A line in it says: “If this is a comic book adaptation that has passed you by now is the time to give it a go” You say “Blade for example passed me by” in fairness it has past lots of people by but still spooky choice of words! Like X-Men Blade suffers from a week third instalment but unlike X-Men it is dead in the water, I don’t think we will see a fourth film.

I really enjoyed Iron Man but when you stop and think about it, it is all about Robert Downey Jr.

lol i was wondering when you’d find my Marvel post. It was only a quickie really. Love the spooky coincidence tho. I really will see it one day.
Without Downey Jr there is no Iron Man. But luckily, we have him. 🙂

Blade has one of the best opening scenes ever… and never gets credit as the first in the relaunch of Comic Book movies. Also, don’t forget good ol’ Favreau when dishing out the Iron Man credit… I think he deserves a good portion of that.

[…] I go back and read my original review of Iron Man I am shocked by how ambivalent I was towards it.  Seeing it for the second time […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

