Humiliated Grapes

Posted on January 19, 2009. Filed under: Movies to see before you die | Tags: , , , , |

Every now and then I come across a movie which is really good, yet very few people have even heard of let alone seen.  I’d like to try and change that, starting with Benny and Joon.

I’d never heard of it either, but it fast became one of my favourites.  It tells the story of a mentally ill girl (Mary Stuart Masterson) and her brother (Aidan Quinn), who are forced to put up with an unwanted lodger after Joon “wins” him in a poker game.  It sounds strange, but the film is actually a really touching story about mental illness, but dealt with in a very upbeat way.  The film belongs to Johnny Depp, who plays Sam, the simple minded lodger whose own peculiarities make him a perfect partner for Joon.

I can’t recommend Benny and Joon more, especially on a wet evening when you need a bit of cheering up.

Joon and Sam

Oh, and if you’re wondering about the post title…I guess you’ll just have to watch the movie ;P

Make a Comment

Think I'm talking gibberish? Have your say!

4 Responses to “Humiliated Grapes”

RSS Feed for The Stories That Really Mattered Comments RSS Feed

I absolutely LOVE Benny and Joon. It’s my favorite movie ever. And I’ve always felt that way about raisins! Im happy theres at least one movie I can connect to! ^_^

Me too raisins suck 😛

I couldn’t agree more. I just watched this movie for the first time today and fell in love with it. The one thing I noticed that wasn’t right in your blog was that Joon was played by Mary Stuart Masterson, not Julianne Moore.
Another movie that I’d recommend with Mary Stuart Masterson is “Immediate Family”. It’s about a couple that wants to, but isn’t able to have a baby and decides to adopt one from a teenage girl (Masterson) who later reconsiders her decision.

Wow how did I never spot that mistake! Completely stupidity on my part thanks for pointing it out. Duly changed.
Julianne Moore of course played the love interest for Aidan Quinn.

Thanks for the comment.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

